Exclusive interview of Julie de Waroquier : a new photographic discovery in Paris

MissaParis makes you discovered a young artist full of talents who exhibs her photographs in Paris  next week.
The photographic evasions of Julie de Waroquier, I discovered them on the web (thanks T!) last Thursday night : I see the date of the Parisian exhibition imminent, I contact Julie by email, she answers in an hour, I send her my questions and receive her answers the morning after.
That’s what we call an interview quicky concluded but well concluded !

Here is the evidence…

MissaParis : Hi Julie, I discovered your photos on DeviantArt then on your own website. But could you tell us more about you ?
Julie de Waroquier : I am student in philosophy and almost 22, and I discovered photo 4 years ago ; I fell into that, and I can’t get out from it any more !

MissaParis : What does photography represent for you : a passion, a job… ?
Julie de Waroquier : A semi-job we could ; I have a status of auto-entrepreneur which enables me to realize diverse prestations. But that is before all a passion which takes more and more place in my life and which has brought me to do it as a semi-profession !

MissaParis : Could you describe your universe and your inspirations?
Julie de Waroquier : That’s a mix of surrealism and fairytale ; the all is a quite feminine and melancholy fantasizing. my inspirations, this is a little all what I can meet ; but I think that I draw my ideas from my childhood readings.

MissaParis : An article was published about you and your work in the magazine « Compétence Photo » and dealt with your “dreamlike realities”. Throw light us on… you are photographying to show the reality, to make us dreamed or is it a little more complicated than that ?
Julie de Waroquier : This is a little of everything. I am not in a realistic way, because U thinks that to see the reality, I just have to go in the streets or watch the news on TV. I prefer giving a poetic view of the world, showing symbols than facts, characters than people. From there we can simply escape or see a thought on the human spirit, on his desires, his fears, his dreams… there are several levels of interpretation.

MissaParis : You exhibit your photos in Paris from June 16th to 18th in the frame of the exhibition « L’enfance hors des clichés »  (“The childhood outside the clichés”) for the benefits of the association Make a Wish. Could you tell us more ?
Julie de Waroquier : I have been contacted recently to participate in this exhibition/sale ; the principle is to exhibit photos from different photographers on the theme of childhood. The sale profits will be for the association Make a Wish, which helps to realize the wishes of children affected by serious diseases. I have found this project beautiful, I have always loved the goal of this association, so I immediately accepted.

MissaParis : Speak a little of you ! You are from Lyon, aren’t you ?
Julie de Waroquier : Exactement !

MissaParis : And you exhibit in Paris… For which reason do you usually come to Paris ? For exhibs or other photo events ? Or perhaps to di some tourism… ?
Julie de Waroquier : All my family is from Paris, so I often come simply to visit them. But that’s more and more linked to the photography, for instance in last November I participated in a collective exposition a the Salon de la Photo, and that wad an new occasion to come to Paris.

MissaParis : What do you love in Paris and what do you dislike ?
Julie de Waroquier : I love the atmosphere of this town, and the fact in each street corner there is a monument ; I have also the impression to arrive in a new city in each new quarter, so different they are. But as a true provincial, I would say that Paris is too big, almost oppressive for me.

MissaParis : Do you have a place you like in the capitale or you could advise us ?
Julie de Waroquier : I had a crush for the Park of the Buttes Chaumont during my last visit…

MissaParis : Thanks Julie ! A last word for the readers of MissaParis?
Julie de Waroquier : Don’t hesitate to go the exposition, the other participants have an incredible talent which deserves to be seen !

So go to this expo-sale for the profit of the association Make a Wish form June 16th to 18th 2011 at the Photo Originale Gallery.


Galerie Photo-Originale
24 rue Molière 75001 Paris
01 42 57 21 90

For more information about the exposition, click here and there to go on the website of Julie de Waroquier.

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

1 Comments on this post

  1. Ce qu’on appelle un joli découvert!
    Merci MissaParis!
    je laisserai un commentaire plus détaillé aprés avoir vu l’expo! 😉

    AEZ / Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Interview exclusive de Julie de Waroquier : Un nouvelle découverte photographique à Paris

MissaParis vous propose de découvrir une jeune artiste pleine de talents qui expose ses photographies à Paris dès la semaine prochaine.
Les évasions photographiques de Julie de Waroquier, je les ai découvertes sur la toile (merci T!) jeudi soir : je vois la date de l’expo parisienne imminente, je contacte Julie par mail, elle me répond dans l’heure, je lui envoie mes questions et reçois ses réponses le lendemain matin.

C’est ce qu’on appelle une interview rapidement conclue mais bien conclue !
En voici la preuve…

MissaParis : Bonjour Julie, j’ai découvert tes photos sur DeviantArt puis sur ton site Internet. Mais pourrais-tu nous dire davantage sur toi ?
Julie de Waroquier : Je suis une étudiante en philosophie de bientôt 22 ans, qui a découvert la photo il y a 4 ans ; je suis tombée dedans, et je ne peux plus en sortir !

MissaParis : Que représente la photographie pour toi : une passion, un métier… ?
Julie de Waroquier : Un semi-métier disons ; j’ai un statut d’auto-entrepreneur qui me permet de réaliser diverses prestations de service. Mais c’est avant tout une passion qui prend de plus en plus de place dans ma vie, et qui m’a conduit à en faire une semi-profession !

MissaParis : Pourrais-tu nous décrire ton univers et tes inspirations?
Julie de Waroquier : C’est un mélange de surréalisme et de contes de fée ; le tout donne un onirisme plutôt féminin et mélancolique. Mes inspirations, c’est un peu tout ce qui je peux rencontrer ; mais je pense que je puise surtout dans les lectures de mon enfance.

MissaParis : Un article est paru sur toi et ton travail dans le magazine « Compétence Photo » et a parlé de tes « réalités oniriques ». Eclaire-nous… tu photographies pour restituer une réalité, nous faire rêver ou est-ce un peu plus compliqué que cela ?
Julie de Waroquier : C’est un peu de tout. Je ne suis pas dans une démarche réaliste, car je pars du principe que pour voir la réalité, je n’ai qu’à aller dans la rue ou regarder les infos à la télévision. Je préfère donner une vision poétique du monde, montrer des symboles plutôt que des faits, des personnages plutôt que des personnes. A partir de là, on peut soit tout simplement s’évader, soit voir une réflexion sur l’esprit humain, sur ses désirs, ses peurs, ses rêves,… il y a plusieurs niveaux d’interprétation.

MissaParis : Tu exposes tes photographies à Paris du 16 au 18 juin dans le cadre de l’exposition « L’enfance hors des clichés » au profit de l’association Make a Wish. Pourrais-tu nous en dire un peu plus ?
Julie de Waroquier : J’ai été contactée il y a peu pour participer à cette expo/vente ; le principe, c’est d’exposer des clichés de différents photographes sur le thème de l’enfance. Les profits des ventes iront à l’association Make a Wish, qui aide à réaliser les vœux des enfants atteints d’affections graves. J’ai trouvé le projet magnifique, j’ai toujours beaucoup aimé le principe de cette association, alors j’ai tout de suite accepté.

MissaParis : Parlons un peu de toi ! Tu viens de Lyon, n’est-ce pas ?
Julie de Waroquier : Exactement !

MissaParis : Et tu exposes à Paris… Dans quel cadre te rends-tu à Paris habituellement ? Pour des expos ou autres évènements pour photos ? Ou peut-être pour faire un peu de tourisme… ?
Julie de Waroquier : Toute ma famille est d’origine parisienne, donc je m’y rends souvent tout simplement pour leur rendre visite. Mais c’est vrai que c’est de plus en plus lié à la photo, par exemple en novembre dernier j’ai participé à une expo collective au Salon de la Photo, et c’était une occasion de plus d’aller à Paris.

MissaParis : Qu’aimes-tu à Paris et qu’est-ce qui te déplait justement ?
Julie de Waroquier : J’aime l’atmosphère de cette ville, et le fait qu’à chaque coin de rue il y ait un monument ; j’aime aussi l’impression d’arriver dans une nouvelle ville à chaque nouveau quartier, tellement ils sont différents. Mais en provinciale convertie, je dirais que Paris c’est trop grand, presque oppressant pour moi.

MissaParis : Aurais-tu un endroit que tu apprécies dans la capitale ou que tu pourrais nous conseiller ?
Julie de Waroquier : J’ai eu un coup de cœur pour le Parc des Buttes Chaumont lors de ma dernière visite…

MissaParis : Merci Julie ! Un dernier mot pour les lecteurs de MissaParis ?
Julie de Waroquier : N’hésitez pas à vous rendre à l’expo, les autres artistes qui participent ont un talent plutôt incroyable qui vaut la peine d’être vu !

Alors rendez- vous à cette expo-vente au profit de l’association Make a Wish du jeudi 16 au samedi 18 juin 2011 à la Galerie Photo Originale.

Galerie Photo-Originale
24 rue Molière 75001 Paris
01 42 57 21 90

Pour en savoir plus sur l’expo, cliquez-ici et pour vous rendre sur le site internet de Julie de Waroquier.

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

1 Comments on this post

  1. Ce qu’on appelle un joli découvert!
    Merci MissaParis!
    je laisserai un commentaire plus détaillé aprés avoir vu l’expo! 😉

    AEZ / Répondre

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*